Thing 7c – Google and Portfolios

I found a post on Instructify that talked about online portfolios. The two programs they mention is Google and Carbonmade. We have an online system at school that the kids can use to create a portfolio. That online program is somewhat limited for my students. Our students will want to show off the technical aspects of what the have done and they will require a system that allows links to outside services, the ability to embed media like photos, videos, flash etc.. I will have to evaluate both Google and Carbonmade to determine if they will meet our needs.

On a different but related topic I may have a solution to a problem I have been facing. This class has introduced many wonderful services and tools. It is easy to spend hours experimenting with these services and tools. It has become a stressful task that I feel obligated to complete. the problem is there are just to many to try and not enough minutes in a day. I think I may create a series of lessons where my students spend time with these tools and creae apresentation for the class. We will see if this helps me with this task. My ultimate goal is to teach my students about these tools and have them use them in future projects. This may just work. Stay tuned for updates.

Leave a Reply

